Democrats select Malone to lead 30th Legislature

Font size: [A] [A] [A]

The 10 Democrats elected to the Senate met Tuesday and announced they will name Sen. Shawn-Michael Malone the president of the 30th Legislature when it convenes in January.

The group's resolution, which the 10 senators signed Tuesday, also names other Senate officers, including the majority leader, and committee chairmanship assignments.

Sen. Sammuel Sanes was named vice president of the Senate; Sen. Janette Millin Young was named secretary; and Senator-elect Donald Cole was named majority leader.

The 10 Senate committees and their assigned chairpersons are:

- Rules and Judiciary - Sanes.

- Finance - Senator-elect Clifford Graham, who also will oversee the Post Audit Division.

- Health, Hospitals, Human Services and Veterans Affairs - Senator-elect Clarence Payne.

- Education and Workforce Development - Cole.

- Housing and Government Services - Senator-elect Diane Capehart.

- Culture, Historic Preservation, Youth and Recreation - Senator-elect Myron Jackson.

- Public Safety, Homeland Security and Justice - Senator-elect Kenneth Gittens, who also will oversee security operations at the legislative facilities.

- Energy and Environmental Protection - Sen. Craig Barshinger.

- Economic Development, Agriculture and Planning - Millin Young.

- Committee of the Whole - Malone.

The majority caucus also announced that Capehart was named secretary for Intergovernmental and Territorial Affairs; Payne was named liaison to the United States Congress; Jackson was designated liaison to the U.S. Department of Interior's Office of Insular Affairs; and Gittens was named liaison to the White House.

The formation of the Senate still must be formalized with a vote during the first legislative session, which will take place immediately after the inauguration, which is on Jan. 14.

We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.

Best of the VI

Best of the VI: After more than 100,000 text and Facebook votes were cast, it is time to unveil the winners.

Daily News E-Edition

Try our e-newspaper delivered to you every day

Island Trader

Good stuff, best buys, great fun

Crucian Trader

Celebrating St. Croix History, Culture and People

Island Action

Your complete guide to where to go and what to do this week in the Virgin Islands.