Elections has many names to evaluate

Font size: [A] [A] [A]

ST. THOMAS - After Tuesday's deadline to file nomination petitions passed, the territory is left with a lot of choices.

In the Senate race, more than 100 people picked up petitions, but only 81 candidates filed by the deadline. Once the Elections staff evaluates the petitions, that number could be reduced further.

The high level of interest in the Senate race could be attributed to the five open seats in the V.I. Legislature. Sitting senators Carlton Dowe, Louis Hill, Usie Richards, Celestino White Sr. and Alvin Williams Jr. have opted not to run again.

Forty-six are vying for a seat as a St. Thomas-St. John District senator - 17 of whom first will have to fight it out in the Democratic Primary.

Five St. Johnians are running for the Senate At-large seat, which is elected by all the voters in the territory. Of the five candidates, four will be running in the primary - Craig Barshinger, Ronnie Jones, Iris Kern and Andrew Rutnik. The winner will then face independent candidate Wilma Marsh Monsanto.

On St. Croix, 30 candidates are hoping to fill seven district Senate seats. Because only seven Democrats are running, a Democratic primary is not needed on St. Croix.

Each party can field a maximum of seven candidates per district in the Senate race; if more than seven run, a primary is required.

In the Delegate race, incumbent Donna Christensen will face Stacey Plaskett in the Democratic Primary. In a rare occurrence in Virgin Islands politics, Republicans will have a primary for their Delegate to Congress candidate. Holland Redfield II will face off with Vincent Danet for the chance to run against the winner of the Democratic primary and independent candidates Warren Mosler, Guillaume Mimoun and Norma Pickard Samuel.

- Contact reporter Aldeth Lewin at 714-9111 or email alewin@dailynews.vi.By the deadline Tuesday, the following candidates have filed nomination petitions:

Delegate to Congress

Democrats - Donna Christensen, Stacey Plaskett.

Republicans - Vincent Danet, Holland Redfield II.

No Party - Guillaume Mimoun, Norma Pickard Samuel, Warren Mosler.

Senator At-large

Democrats - Craig Barshinger, Ronnie Jones, Iris Kern, Andrew Rutnik.

No Party - Wilma Marsh Monsanto.

Senator, St. Thomas-St. John District

Democrats - Moses Carty, Donald Cole, Gilmore Estill Sr., Jean Forde, Claudette Georges, Clifford Graham, Justin Harrigan Sr., Matthew Hodge, Stedmann Hodge Jr., Franke Hoheb, Myron Jackson, Christina Lee, Sean Magras, Shawn-Michael Malone, Luis Morales, Clarence Payne, Riise Smith-Richards, Patrick Simeon Sprauve, Janette Millin Young.

Republicans - Orial Webb, Jodi Hodge.

ICM - Walter Brown, Stephen Frett, Charlesworth Halstead, Joseph Gumbs.

No Party - Paul Alexander, Neville Amey, Kent Bernier Sr., Carol Berry, Marvin Blyden, Horace Brooks, Kyza Callwood, Elvin Fahie Sr., Alan Friedman, Alma Francis-Heyliger, Sean Georges, Josephine Lindquist, Cleone Buchanan Marrishow, Cecilia Milliner-Emanuel, Luis Moquete-Mella, Omodoso Muhammad, Lawrence Olive, Willis Phillips, Tregenza Roach, Shirley Sadler, Janelle Sarauw, Andreas Tietje, Lisa Williams, Louis Willis.

Senator, St. Croix District

Democrats - Diane Capehart, Kenneth Gittens, Neville James, Eugene LaCorbiniere, Troy Mason, Ronald Russell, Sammuel Sanes.

Republicans - Gwendolyn Brady, John Canegata, Wayne Petersen.

ICM - Arthur Brown Jr., Arthur Joseph, Naomi Joseph, George Moore, Terrence Nelson.

No Party - Myron Allick, Luis Ayala Jr., Samuel Baptiste, Carmen Cintron, Pedro Cruz, George Cyril Sr., Percival Edwards, Judi Fricks-Buckley, Norman George, Alicia Hansen, Irving Julien, Nereida Rivera-O'Reilly, Jamila Russell, Michael Springer Jr., Jay Watson, Sherryann Wiltshire.

Board of Elections, St. Thomas-St. John District

Democrats - Edwardo Carmona Sr., Yvonne Solomon Freeman, Lucien Moolenaar II, Arturo Watlington Jr., Russell Williams.

Republicans - George Blackhall, Lawrence Boschulte.

ICM - Jacquel Dawson, Ada Hodge, Jerry Azik Meyers.

No Party - Lydia Hendricks, Diane Magras, Harriet Mercer, Herman Richards, Alecia Wells.

Board of Elections, St. Croix District

Republicans - Lilliana Belardo de O'Neal, Glenn Webster.

ICM - Epiphane Joseph.

No Party - Lisa Harris-Moorhead, Roland Moolenaar, Krista Schluderman.

Board of Education, St. Thomas-St. John District

Democrats - Judy Gomez, Arah Lockhart, Keith Richards, LaVerne Slack, Debra Watlington,

ICM - Maria Richardson.

No Party - Vivicka Garfield, Nandi S├ękou.

Board of Education, At-Large

Democrat - Oswin Sewer Sr.

Board of Education, St. Croix District

Democrats - Kasaun Baptiste, Winona Hendricks, Terrence Joseph, Cyril Levine.

ICM - Mary Moorhead.

No Party - Yvonne Petersen, Martial Webster Sr., Jaynae Williams.

We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.

Best of the VI

Best of the VI: After more than 100,000 text and Facebook votes were cast, it is time to unveil the winners.

Daily News E-Edition

Try our e-newspaper delivered to you every day

Island Trader

Good stuff, best buys, great fun

Crucian Trader

Celebrating St. Croix History, Culture and People

Island Action

Your complete guide to where to go and what to do this week in the Virgin Islands.