4 vying for Sol BVI Junior Female Athlete of Year award

Font size: [A] [A] [A]

TORTOLA - Four women who had an outstanding 2012 track and field season are vying for the Sol BVI Junior Female Athlete of the Year Award, which will be among eight awards handed out during the BVI Athletics Association's fourth Athletes Awards Recognition Gala on Dec. 28. The event is scheduled for 7 p.m. at the Moorings Mariner Inn. Donations are $50 single and $85 per couple.

Twin sisters Tynelle and Trevia Gumbs - both field event specialists - sprinter Nelda Huggins and half-miler Lakeisha Warner are vying for Sol Junior Female Athlete of the Year honors. All have set personal bests during the season, and all, except Huggins, have established a junior national record.

Meanwhile, the association will also hand out Lifetime Achievement Awards to its 16 track and field athletes who have made BVI Olympic teams between 1984 and 2012.

The BVI Athletics Association was the catalyst for the formation of the BVI Olympic Committee in 1980. In 1982, the BVIOC became an International Olympic Committee member, paving the way for the territory's athletes to compete not only in the Olympic Games, but also the Pan Am Games and the Central American and Caribbean Games as well.

Since then, athletics and sailing have sent 25 athletes to the Olympic Games with athletics having representatives at every Olympic Games since 1984. The BVI's last representation in sailing was in the 1996 Summer Games in Atlanta.

While the territory has not produced an Olympic Games medalist, Tahesia Harrigan-Scott - a two-time Olympian - was a 100-meter women's semifinalist during the 2008 Summer Games in Beijing.

Two-time Olympian Keita Cline - the territory's most successful junior male athlete - will be the guest speaker.

The Athletics Association Olympians from 1984 to 2012 are:

1984 Los Angeles: Lindel Hodge, Guy Hill, Dean Greenaway and Jerry Molyneaux;

1988 Seoul: Lindel Hodge and Willis Todman**

1992 Barcelona: Karl Scatliffe.

1996 Atlanta: Keita Cline, Ralston Varlack, Mario Todman, Willis Todman, Greg Rymer, Coralea Cline and Steve Augustine.

2000 Sydney: Keita Cline

2004 Athens: Dion Crabbe

2008 Beijing: Tahesia Harrigan and Eric Matthias

2012 London: Tahesia Harrigan-Scott and J'Maal Alexander

Rathbun wins Best BVI Helm; Putley takes junior class

Following Saturday's O'Neal and Mundy Commodores Race, the Royal BVI Yacht Club held its Commodores dinner and awards presentation for the 2012 sailing season.

During the ceremony, Colin Rathbun picked up the Best Helm award ahead of Mark Plaxton and Richard Wooldridge. Plaxton earned Best International Helm honors.

Keith Li Greci and Jon Charlton were given the Most Improved Helm award.

In Youth Sailing, the Best Helm award was collected by Jason Putley. Best International Helm went to Rayne Duff, while the Most Improved Helm was Amelie Clark.

James Dawson collected the Intac Sportsmanship Award.

In the Commodores race, veteran Peter Haycraft sailed Pipe Dream to victory in the Racing class, ahead of Kevin Rowlette's Rushin' Rowlette and Henry Leoning's Fire Water.

BVIFA Disciplinary Committee makes ruling in Sugar Boys case

The BVI Football Association's Disciplinary Committee has ruled in the case of the Virgin Gorda Sugar Boys team, who abandoned last month's Terry Evans Cup Knockout Tournament championship match with the Islanders in the 45th minute after a controversial referee's call awarded a goal to the Islanders.

The committee ruled that the Sugar Boys will have six points deducted from its point total at the end of the 2012-2013 league season.

Additionally, players Jairo Morris and Leslie Ambrose received a suspended one-game suspension, while Terry Nanton - who expressed no remorse for his action - was immediately suspended for one match. Several other players who attended the meeting and expressed remorse, were not suspended.

Referee Clifton James was reprimanded for not attending the meeting.

- Dean Greenaway is a Daily News correspondent based on Tortola.

We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
National Sports Video

Best of the VI

Best of the VI: After more than 100,000 text and Facebook votes were cast, it is time to unveil the winners.

Daily News E-Edition

Try our e-newspaper delivered to you every day

Island Trader

Good stuff, best buys, great fun

Crucian Trader

Celebrating St. Croix History, Culture and People

Island Action

Your complete guide to where to go and what to do this week in the Virgin Islands.